My Life in France

An incredible glimpse into mid-20th century France and some incredibly important times in Julia Child’s life. Her life told in her own words, yet reads like a novel. Perfectly encapsulates her kindness, charisma, and genius! Bon Appetit!  Buy on Bookshop

The Last Ballad

One of my favorite NC writers revisits the difficult and inspiring life of Ella May Wiggins–1929 mill laborer, single mother, unionist. Wiggins fought for equality and justice way before it was “okay for women to do so.” Wiggins was an OG Resister–but hers is a story you won’t be able to resist. Buy on Bookshop

The Handmaid’s Tale

  Should be required reading for all. A theocratic overthrow of the US government leaves women with no rights to their own bodies. Atwood may have written this in 1984, but the story seems eerily familiar–from blaming the country’s ills on Middle Eastern terrorists to people’s dependency on cards for paying for all financial transactions. […]

Gods of Jade and Shadow

A fairy tale filled with Mexican folklore set during the jazz age. A young woman is sent on an adventure into the underworld by the Mayan god of death. Buy on Bookshop

Anger Is a Gift

This book gets 5 stars! It’s one of the best YA books I’ve read. Tender, empathetic, and heartbreaking at points. Moss exemplifies the power and courage we all need to speak out after loss. This book will bring out your inner activist – perfect for fans of The Hate U Give. Buy on Bookshop

Grand Union

A collection of short stories, brief essays, and musing from one of the most prolific writers of our time. Great for lovers of language and small bites of literature. Plus, it’s just frickin beautiful! Buy on Bookshop

On Tyranny

Something to spur you toward action, something to make you feel seen, and something to make you angry – On Tyranny is a tiny volume with a lot to get riled up about. Buy on Bookshop

Again, but Better

Shane wants a second chance at college and decides to go on a study abroad trip to London to make friends, pursue boys, and find adventure. This is the perfect blend of cheesy and sweet that reads like your next favorite rom-com. Buy on Bookshop

Say Nothing

An insightful account of the people – both willing and unwilling – who were involved in “The Troubles.” This book gave me an understanding of what it would feel like to be caught up in a war with no clear boundaries and just as applicable today as in the 1970s and 80s. Buy on Bookshop

The Girls

A coming-of-age story with a twist of cultism. Wonderfully written and full of mystery. Cline delivers teenage impulsiveness and adult reflection with a seamless finish. Buy on Bookshop

Tagged